Conferences and Workshops

Upcoming Conferences:



Previous CES sponsored or co-sponsored academic conferences and workshops:


“12th Annual Symposium of Spanish and Portuguese Studies”

January 27, 2018 in Reitz Union
Co-sponsors: Spanish and Portugese Studies, Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Department of Linguistics, and Center for Gender, Sexualities, and Women’s Studies Research
Speakers: Leah Rosenberg, Helen Huet, and Laurie Taylor

“Northern Ireland and the Good Friday Accords: 20 Years After”

March 29-30, 2018 in Pugh Hall & Anderson 2016
Co-sponsors: Department of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, UF International Center, Bob Graham Center, and Manning J. Dauer Eminent Chair in Political Science
Speakers: Brendan O’Leary, Adrian Guelke, Maria-Adriana Deiana, John McGarry, Reverend Gary Mason, and M. Leann Brown
The Good Friday Agreement brought to an end 30 years of sectarian conflict in Norther Ireland. Twenty years after the peace agreements have been signed, a panel of experts reflect on the peace process and just how far Norther Ireland has come from its darker days. A recording of that panel can be found here.


“The Provocations of Contemporary Refugee Migration”

March 16-17, 2017 in the Pugh Hall Ocora and Dauer 215/219
Co-sponors: the Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere with support from the Humanities Fund, and the Center for African Studies
Speakers: Alison Mountz, Gregory Feldman, Loren Landau, Ayse Parla, Piro Rexhapi, A. Katerina Rozakou, Anwen Tormey and William Walters


“Empire, Religion, & Ethnicity in Europe and Beyond”

September 2016 to March 2017
Co-sponsors: History Department, International Studies Center, Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere (Rothman Endowment), Center for Global Islamic Studies, Office of Research, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Department of Political Science and Russian Studies Program
Speakers: Dominique Reill, Eileen Kane, Robert Nemes, Emily Greble

“Writing Retribution – Holocaust Justice & Its Meaning: An International Conference”

February 21-22, 2015 in the Judaica Suite, Smathers Library
Co-sponsors: Center for Jewish Studies and the Isser and Rae Price Library of Judaica
Speakers: Lawrence Douglas, Devin Pendas, Tomaz Jardim, JonDavid Wyneken, Anna Hajkova, Alexander Prusin, Per Anders Rudling, Kerstin von Lingen, Katherina von Kellenbach, Eric Kligerman, Regula Ludi, Michael Bazyler, Sophie Lillie

“Transformations in Media, Citizenship & Participation in the Post-2008 EU, a Jean Monnet Center of Excellence Workshop”

April 3, 2015 in Dauer Hall 215
Co-sponors: Jean Monnet Center of Excellence
Esther Romeyn, Maria Stehle, Anikó Imre, Michael Gorham, Peter Mörtenböck, Heige Mooshammer, Zala Volcic, Cristina Ampatzidou


“Right to Know”

April 5, 2013 at 219 Dauer Hall and University Auditorium, Friends of Music Room
Co-Sponsors: European Delegation to the United Sates Getting to Know Europe Grant, Graham Center, Levin College of Law, Brechner Center for Freedom of Information, Raymond & Miriam Ehrlich Eminent Scholar Chair, University of Florida
Speakers: Éva Balogh, Howard Eissenstat, Mark Fenster, Alice Freifeld, Brian Grodsky, Gábor Halmai, Owen Johnson, Lyrissa Lidsky, Lili Levi, Jon Mills, Paul E. Sum, Benjamin Thorne, Jason Wittenberg

“History, Legacy, and Heritage: Heritage Tourism in Spain and Slovenia”

Co-Sponsors: Center for the Humanities, Department of History, Public Sphere
Speakers: Bojan Baskar, Eugene Graham, Antonio Miguel Nogues Pedregal, Irena Weber

“Democratization by Elections?”

Co-Sponsor: Staffan Lindberg (Political Science Department)

“Europa Europa: Europe in Philosophy, History, Literature, Music and Film”

Co-Sponsors: Center for Jewish Studies, France Florida Research Institute

“The European Union and Democracy Assistance”

Sponsor: Jean Monnet Center of Excellence
Speakers: Michael Allen (National Endowment for Democracy), Dimitar Bechev (St. Anthony’s College, Oxford University), Robert Benjamin (National Democratic Institute), Reinhold Brender (European Commission Delegation), Srdjan Cvijic (Stability Pact for Southeastern Europe), Amie Kreppel, Stephen Nix (International Republican Institute), Zachary Selden